The association is registered with the Registrar of Society and operates within the set rules and procedure.


Roysambu Sub-county emanated from the name Royal suburbs. These were Jewish Coffee farms owned by a man called Joreth who later sub-divided the land and sold to land buying companies and groups.

It is also one of the seventeen constituencies in Nairobi county created prior to the 2013 General Elections, when Kasarani constituency was split up to form three constituencies namely; Kasarani, Ruaraka and Roysambu. It borders Mathare constituency to the south and south-east, Ruaraka and Kasarani constituency to the east, Ruiru constituency to the north and north-east, Kiambu constituency to the North West and Wetlands constituency to the west.

The neighborhoods within are – Ridgeways, Garden Estate, Thome, Balozi, Zimmerman, Kahawa West, Kahawa and part of Githurai. United States International University (USIU), the National Youth Service (NYS) headquarters, the General Service Unit (GSU) headquarters are also located here.

The Roysambu Sub-county has five wards – Roysambu, Zimmerman, Githurai 44, Kahawa and Kahawa West.